Skip to Content

does contempt of court go on your record

State Law and Contempt Statutes Contempt Description Consequences California Penal Code 166 PC Insolent behavior, disorderly, or contemptuous during a court session Custody in a county jail for up to 6 months, or $1000 fine, or both Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure Rule 33. Contempt Refusal, willful, and continuing failure to comply with a court’s subpoena, lawful writ, order, processes, command, or rule. A fine, not less than $500 nor more than $75000, or imprisonment of not more than a year or both. Alaska Statutes Title 9. Code of Civil Procedure 09.50.020 Contemptuous, insolent, or disorderly behavior toward a judge while tending to impair the authority or holding the court during its proceedings Guilty of class A misdemeanor, a fine of up to $5,000 Arizona law 12-861 Disrupting court proceedings, failure to pay child support, and disrespecting the judicial process or insulting a judge, Misdemeanor charges as punishment. A fine of $500 Arkansas Code 16-10-108 Contemptuous, insolent, and disorderly behavior committed during, in the immediate presence and view of a court proceeding, and directly intending to interrupt its proceedings. Class C misdemeanor. Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure 107(a) Violating a court order, and willfully disrupting the court’s processes and ability to conduct its duties. 6 months of jail time, fines, or both. Delaware code 10(96) Any resistance or disobedience to a court’s lawful writ, rule, order, or process A fine not exceeding $100, or imprisonment not exceeding 170 days Florida Statute 38.22-23 Refusal to obey legal decree, mandate, or order, given or made by a court. A maximum of a year in county jail Georgia Code § 15-1-4 Intentional or willful violation of a court order Fines not surpassing $1,000, or jail time of not more than 20 days, or both. Hawaii revised statutes §710-1077 Wilfully neglecting, violating, or refusing to perform or obey any lawful court order Six months imprisonment or a maximum fine of $ 1,000. ID Code § 44-710-711  

Not following or complying with court orders. Insolent, disorderly, or contemptuous behavior committed during a court proceeding.

A fine not surpassing $5,000, or a maximum of 5 days in prison, or both. Illinois public act 101-440 Any act that was done to embarrass, obstruct, derogate, or impede the court or bring it to disrepute. A fine not surpassing $500, a jail term of not more than 180 days, or both Direct Criminal Contempt – Statute I.C. § 34-47-2 Willfulness or deliberate intention to disrupt the court proceedings, disobey a lawful order and provide an inaccurate or false report in court. Imprisonment of not more than 6 months, a fine of or both. Iowa Code 598.23(a) Willfully disobeying a court decree or order Jail term of up to 30 days in a county jail for each contempt Kansas Statutes Annotated (KSA), Chapter 60—Civil Procedure Neglecting or refusing to perform a judgment or order of a court other than Jail time. Kentucky Statutes 403.763 Neglecting to make due or return a subpoena, and disobeying court summons and orders Class A misdemeanor Louisiana Revised Statutes Tit. 13, § 4611 Willfully or purposefully deceiving, or disobeying a court judgment or order. Imprisonment of not more than6 months, or a fine not exceeding $500, or both Title 14, §3136: Contempt – Maine Legislature Willfully or purposefully deceiving, or disobeying a court judgment or order. A reasonable fine not exceeding $500 Maryland Rules §1–202 Willfully and intentionally violating a court order A fine, imprisonment, or both Massachusetts criminal Procedure Rule 43 Purposefully and willfully violating a court order or judgment A fine of $2,000, or imprisonment of not more than 3 months, or both. Michigan Laws 600.1715 Willful omission, act, or statement that impairs or impedes the authority or functioning of the court. A fine not exceeding $7,500, or imprisonment of not more than 93 days, or both Minnesota Ch. 588 MN Statutes A judge’s decision that a person has gone contrary to a court order they knew existed and they did so with ill intentions. Imprisonment in a working farm, workhouse, or county jail for not more than 6 months, a fine not exceeding $250, or both 2010 Mississippi Code 95-3-19 Failing to follow a court judgment or order A fine exceeding $2,00 and not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both. Revised Statutes of Missouri, RSMo Section 476.110

 

Disorderly, contemptuous, or insolent behavior committed during a court’s session, in its immediate view and presence, and directly tending to disrupt or undermine its authority A court may hold someone in contempt for “willful disobedience of any process or order lawfully issued or made by it,” according to Missouri law. Penalties can include a fine, time in county jail, or both. MCA Contents 3-1-501

 

 

disorderly, disdainful, or arrogant behavior toward the judge whilst court is in session, with the intent to disrupt the proper course of a trial or other judicial proceeding;

(a) a breach of the rules, boisterous behavior, or violent interruption likely to disrupt the proper conduct of a court hearing or other judicial proceeding;

(c) willful neglect or breach of duty by a lawyer, counsel, clerk, deputies, coroner, or other person designated or voted into office to conduct judicial or ministerial services;

(d) deception or abuse of the court’s procedure or litigation by a party to an action or special proceeding;

A person convicted of criminal contempt shall be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned in the county jail for not more than 6 months, or both. 29-3307 – Nebraska Legislature

 

Requesting that the judge hold the person who is disobeying the court order in contempt.

If the judge determines that the person willfully disobeyed the court order, the person can be imprisoned until he or she has followed a plan to “purge” himself or herself of the contempt.

Sections 29-3301 to 29-3307 provide that the penalty for contempt of court shall not exceed thirty days in county jail. NRS 22.100

 

Disobeying a court order or engaging in certain other illegal behaviors. In Nevada, criminal contempt is a misdemeanor. The maximum criminal penalty is six months in prison and/or a $1,000 fine. Pretending to be an attorney or a court officer, or acting in that capacity without authority. New Hampshire Revised Statutes Section 544:40 – Contempt, Penalty.

 

 

 

Disobeying a court’s judgment, decree, direction, order, or other processes, or failing to comply with an undertaking given to the court.

To be considered in contempt of court, there must be disobedience of a valid order. Orders include all types of judgments and orders, including final, preliminary, ex parte, and contempt orders.

If a party is found guilty of contempt under the provisions of this RSA 544, he or she will be charged with a misdemeanor if a natural person or a felony if any other person. NJ Rev Stat § 2A:10-5 (2013)

 

When a person intentionally violates court order, acts inappropriately in the courtroom, or disrespects the judge while the court is in session, he or she is in contempt of court. In New Jersey, contempt of court is typically charged as a disorderly person’s offense, punishable by up to 6 months in county jail and a $1,000 fine. N.M. R. Civ. P. Dist. Ct. 1-093

 

Contempt” or “contemptuous conduct” includes, but is not limited to, gross misconduct, insolent actions, or a public disorder, loudness, or other disturbance, if such behavior impedes or hinders the judicial process or tends to undermine the court’s authority. Criminal contempt is punishable by fines, jail time, or both New York Penal Code § 215.50-51

 

Any action (or lack thereof) that disregards the court’s authority, disrupts the court or obstructs the court’s ability to function. Except as served in subsets (2), (3), and (4), the reprimand for a contempt specified in section seven hundred fifty maybe a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment in the county jail where the court is sitting for up to thirty days, or both, at the discretion of the court. G.S. 5A-21 Page 1 Article 2. Civil Contempt. § 5A-21.  Willful unwillingness to take the stand or yield other information on a judge’s order. Willful interaction with a juror in an inappropriate attempt to manipulate his or her decision-making. Willful failure to comply with a probation condition. Criminal contempt is subject to punishment by censure (public reprimand), a fine of up to $500, and 30 days in jail. North Dakota Century Code t27c10

 

Intentional obstruction of justice in the presence of the court that interrupts the court hearing or the administration of justice, or that diminishes the court’s respect Any person who commits contempt of court may be fined and/or imprisoned by the judge. Section 2705.01

 

Misbehavior in or near the presence of a court or judge that obstructs the administration of justice First offense – a fine of up to $250.00 and/or a definite term of a prison term of up to thirty days, or both. b. Second offense – a fine of up to $500.00 and/or a definite term of prison sentences of up to sixty days, or both. Oklahoma Statutes, 21.19 .565-566 Direct contempt occurs when a person intentionally interferes with the judicial process while the judge is present. Indirect contempt occurs when a person willfully disregards or disobeys a court order while the judge is not present. Unless otherwise provided by law, a form of justice for direct or indirect contempt shall be a fine of not more than $500.00 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both, at the court’s discretion. ORS 33.015 to 33.155

 

Disobeying a court order. A fine of up to $500 or 1% of the accused’s income earned, whichever is greater. (b) Loss of any proceeds or profits derived from the contempt. (c) Confinement for a maximum of six months. PAG Title 42

 

The act of violating (disobeying) a court’s order. A parent may be found in violation or contempt of a custody order if they engage in one of the following behaviors: restricting visitation, meddling with communication, and/or denying visiting rights due to non-payment of child maintenance. The penalty for contempt specified in subsection (a)(1) or (3) is a fine of no more than $100 or imprisonment for no more than 30 days or both. The penalty for contempt specified in subsection (a)(2) is a fine of not more than $100. R.I. Gen. Laws § 8-9-21

 

Criminal contempt occurs when a person acts in a way that undermines the authority of the court, whereas civil contempt occurs when someone acts disobediently toward the court. Any person found guilty shall be punished by a fine of a minimum of $50.00, and a maximum of $100.00, as well as jail terms in adult correctional facilities for a minimum of three (3) months, and a maximum of six (6) months. SC Code 14-1-50 – South Carolina Legislature

 

Anyone may be held in direct contempt if his or her conduct disrupts judicial proceedings, shows disrespect for the court, or impedes the parties or witnesses. (1) a year in prison, (2) a $1,500 fine, and/or (c) a maximum of 300 hours of community service Codified Law 23A-38-2 | South Dakota Legislature

 

If any party, person, party, or witness disobeys a duly served order of the judge or referee, the judge may punish such person, party, or witness as for contempt. The defendant is entitled to a jury trial. Following a verdict or finding of guilt, the court must issue an order determining the punishment. Contempt charged under this section is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Tennessee Code Annotated § 29-9-102(3)

 

According to Tennessee Code Annotated 29-9-102(3), a person who willfully disobeys “any lawful writ, process, order, rule, decree, or command” of a court is in contempt of court. Criminal contempt is punishable by imprisonment, a fine, or both. For each violation, the maximum period of confinement is 10 days and a fine of $50. Each violation of the court order is treated as a separate offense, and the court has the authority to sentence a person to consecutive sentences. GOVERNMENT CODE CHAPTER 21. GENERAL PROVISIONS

 

Contempt is defined by the Texas Supreme Court as “disobedience to or disrespect for a court by acting in opposition to its authority.” Contempt of a court other than a justice court or municipal court is punishable by a fine of up to $500 or confinement in the county jail for up to six months, or both such a fine and confinement in jail. 78B-6-310. Contempt — Action by the court.

 

Any act that is disrespectful to the court or fails to follow its rules or orders. The court must decide whether the person being prosecuted is guilty of the contempt charge. If the court finds the person guilty of contempt, the court may impose a fine of up to $1,000, imprison the person in the county jail for up to 30 days, or both. Title 15: Domestic Relations – Vermont Laws

 

If the court finds all of the following, the person may be held in contempt of court: (1) The person was aware or should have been aware, that he or she was subject to a court-ordered obligation. (2) The individual has failed to follow the court’s order. Imprisonment as a punitive action for contempt, or to impose orders, sentences, or edicts in contempt litigation, or upon execution issued in civil process, shall take place in a correctional facility operated or maintained by the state. § 16.1-69.24. Contempt of court – Virginia Law

 

Misbehavior in or near the presence of the court that obstructs or interrupts the administration of justice A fine of no more than $250 and no more than ten days in prison Chapter 7.21 RCW: CONTEMPT OF COURT

 

When a party to a case fails to obey a court order, they may be held in contempt. Following a finding of contempt of court in a proceeding under subsection (1) of this section, a court may impose a punitive sanction of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than thirty days, or both, or a remedial sanction specified in RCW 7.21. WV Code § 61-5-26 – West Virginia Legislature

 

(a) Misbehavior in or near the presence of the court that obstructs or interrupts the administration of justice; (b) violence or threats of violence against a judge or officer of the court Without a jury, no court may impose a fine of more than $50 or imprison someone for more than ten days for any of the offenses listed in subdivision (a) of this section. 785.01(1)(a) – Wisconsin Legislature

 

If a party willfully and without legal justification disregard a court order Punitive Sanctions allow a person to be imprisoned for up to a year and fined up to $5,000 for each separate act of contempt. A judge is required to issue a contempt order. If the Family Court Commissioner wishes to hold someone in contempt, he or she must first refer the matter to a judge. title 1 – code of civil procedure – Wyoming Legislature

 

(A) Contemptuous, disorderly, or insolent behavior that tends to disrupt the continuance of a trial or other legal procedures; (B) A violation of the peace, rowdy conduct, or violent disruption that tends to disrupt the court’s business; and (C) Unwilling to be sworn or respond as a testimony. If convicted of criminal contempt, the sentence for imprisonment shall not exceed six months unless the accused has been afforded the right to a jury trial on the charge. Filing a Motion for Contempt – Connecticut Judicial Branch Purposely failing to obey a court ruling A fine of no more than $100, or imprisonment for no more than six months, or both.